iPad Tips: How To Let Others Add to Your Shared Photo Stream

Share this:

Shared Photo Streams

Sharing a Photo Stream, which is a hand-picked collection of your photos in the iPad photo library, is on of the coolest features in iOS. With it you can quickly and easily put together a group of photos and instantly share them to family and friends.

This week I’ve learned a nifty new feature that lets you give the people you’ve shared your photo stream with the ability to add to the photo stream – thanks to an article by my friend Chris at everythingiCafe.

Here’s how you do this:

– Start with a shared photo stream if you already have one, or create a new one. To create a new one, go to the Photos app and tap on the Shared button in the bottom nav bar. Then tap on the ‘New Shared Stream’ button. Give your new stream a name and then choose t least one person to share it with and enter their email address where prompted.

New Shared Stream

– To allow those you shared with (who are called subscribers) to add to your photo stream, first open up the stream you want to work with.

– Next tap on the People button near the top right of the page for that photo stream. This will bring up the Edit Photo Stream popup dialog

Edit Photo Stream

– You’ll see that there is a button labeled ‘Subscribers Can Post’. Make sure this is set to On.

And that’s it. This will allow the people you’ve invited to share the photo stream to add photos and videos to the stream.

Photo Stream is already a great feature, and this handy little tip takes it to another level. It’s a great, simple way to share and create photo collections.

The following two tabs change content below.

Patrick Jordan

Founder and Editor in Chief of iPad Insight. Husband, father to a lovely daughter, Commander of the Armies of the North, dog lover (especially Labs), Austinite, former Londoner, IT consultant, huge sports nut, iPad and mobile tech blogger, mobile apps junkie.

Comments are closed.